Official Section 

The official section is the highest category in the competition of the festival, created in the 2011 edition. This year the Official Section is made up of two categories: feature film and short film, endowed with a prize and economic recognition of 10,000 and 6,000 euros, respectively.

Honorary Award

The IBAFF festival was born in 2010 with an Honorary Award granted to a cinematographic personality (Majid Majidi was awarded that year) with a particular vision of understanding cinema and in line with the ideals and concepts of Travel and Creation. In the 2011 edition, the award was given to the Italian theorist and director of photography Vittorio Storaro. In the third edition of the festival, the career of director Abbas Kiarostami was recognised. In 2013, the Honorary Prize was awarded ex aequo to screenwriter Jean-Claude Carrière and the French magazine Trafic. In the fifth edition, it was delivered to the Portuguese Cinematheque. The award has also been presented to the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) and to director Pere Portabella. The 2017 IBAFF Honorary Award was given to the magazine Caimán Cuadernos de Cine and the 2018 Honorary Award was given to director Lucrecia Martel. 2019 awarded the Academy of Cinema of Spain, and in 2020 the award was given to Peter Greenaway.

IBAFF Youth Award

IBAFF Youth is the award given by a jury made up of students from secondary schools in the Region of Murcia. The award is given to one of the short films participating in the different sections of the festival. The reason for the direct participation of these students is to promote a didactic project with a European dimension in which they work with the teaching staff of educational centres to learn the value of new technologies and media. In the same way, we are committed to a project related to what cinema can offers education: awareness, knowledge of the audiovisual world, training of critical viewers and audiences prepared to see and value this heritage.

Audience Award

Awarded by popular vote during the festival. The films that are eligible for this award are those screened in the Official Section. The audience, through their scores after viewing each film, is in charge of deciding which feature film and short film will win this award from among those presented in the official competition section. IBAFF - Murcia International Film Festival continues to support bringing culture closer to all types of social groups. Along these lines, in this twelfth edition it will bring the cinema closer to three groups of spectators who cannot access it as they would like. One is made up of inmates from the Campos del Río Penitentiary Centre –by the NGO Solidarios para el Desarrollo–; people with cerebral palsy and related pathologies –thanks to Astrapace–; and some patients of the Virgen de la Arrixaca University Clinical Hospital –within the Hospital Classrooms programme of the Murcia Regional Hospital Classroom Platform–. Everyone will watch a selection of shorts from those scheduled in the Official Section. Your votes will lead to a Special Mention in solidarity with the Audience Award.

Rapture Award

Prize awarded by the festival (if applicable) that recognises the trajectory, constant evolution and a firm interest in discovering and sharing new cinematographies with the public.

Este sitio web utiliza cookies propias y de terceros para optimizar tu navegación, adaptarse a tus preferencias y realizar labores analíticas. Al acceder a nuestra web aceptas su uso. Información sobre cookies